Powiats in Wielkopolski

The administration of the Wielkopolski Voivodship (region) in Poland, is divided into 35 administrative Powiats (districts) including four Municipal Powiats and 226 Gminas (municipalities). A Powiat (pronounced povyat) is the second level of Polish administrative division, between Voivodships and Communes, (Giminas). As such it is roughly equivalent to counties or districts in the United Kingdom. There is no official equivalent of the name in English. Some of the towns in a Voivodship can be centres of more than one powiat. The reason is that in several cases the town itself and its surroundings form separate entities of administrative division. This is usually the case for large Polish cities, but can also apply to several smaller towns.


There are four Municipal Powiats: –

Kalisz Municipal Council Konin Municipal Council Leszno Municipal Council Poznan Municipal Council


There are thirtyone Powiats: –

Chodzież Krotoszyn Rawicki
Czarnków Leszno Słupca
Gniezno Międzychódzki Szamotuły
Gostyński Nowy Tomyśl Śrem
Grodzisk Wielkopolski Oborniki Wielkopolskie Środa Wielkopolska
Jarocin Ostrów Wielkopolski Turek
Kalisz Ostrzeszów Wągrowiec
Kępno Piła Wolsztyn
Koło Pleszew Września
Konin Poznań Złotów


Powiats in Wielkopolski – Poland Travel Guide

Tatra Mountains in southern Poland